Index · FAQ · Log in · Register
Set mode: No ratings · Default

AdrenalinDragon

Written for Space Pilot 3000 on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:10
Characters:10
Gags:10
Voice actor performance:9
Guest actor performance:10
Continuity:10

Futurama began back in late 1999 for the UK, and although I missed the very first episode when it aired, there's no denying that the Space Pilot 3000 episode of Futurama was very important in setting up the whole concept of a 20th century guy attempting to cope with the future, and nevertheless Futurama begins with a bang and does it perfectly!

It's December 31st 1999, and Phillip J Fry, a pizza delivery boy in New York, gets an order from "I.C Weiner" to a cryogenics lab, and realising its a prank call, he waits for the millenium to hit, and shortly afterwards falls down from the seat and into one of the tubes, where he is frozen for 1000 years. Fry wakes up in the year 2999, with one day before the year 3000, and first encounters Leela, a one eyed cyclops who works at the cryogenics lab. She tells him he must be signed to a career chip, and after he gets "delivery boy", he attempts to escape and finds information about one of his relatives Professor Farnsworth. After wandering around the city New New York, Fry finds a phone box, which is actually a suicide booth and bumps into a robot named Bender. They both enter the booth and survive the "Slow and Horrible" treatment of suicide, and decide to try and find Farnsworth afterwards. Nevertheless, Leela is attempting to capture them, but Fry and Bender head underground to find the ruins of New York. Fry, realising he's lost everything now being in the future, decides to give himself up to Leela, but Leela changes her mind because she feels the same about Fry as herself. They both escape and head to Professor Farnsworth. They are greeted by Farnsworth and he's surprised to find a relative alive. He offers the crew a chance to be part of the Planet Express team, and the group agree to join, but the police are waiting for them outside. They escape in the ship and the year 3000 is hit. Professor Farnsworth then tells Fry that he is going to be a delivery boy and jumps up in excitement.

Overall, the first episode of Futurama is one of the best. It delivers a solid story and a very good sense of humour, and nevertheless it couldn't have started any better in my opinion. With amazing gags to a well structured plot, Space Pilot 3000 introduced us to the future and our favourites Fry, Bender, Leela, and Farnsworth (the others show up in the next episode). An incredible start to quite possibly the greatest animated show ever!

Written for The Series Has Landed on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:9
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:9
Sideplot:8
Voice actor performance:9
Continuity:10

Often considered part 2 of the Pilot. The Series Has Landed is the one that introduces the entire Planet Express crew, including Hermes, Amy, and Dr Zoidberg (the most memorable one). The plot is the first space delivery to the Moon, with Fry being excited to go on there, whilst everyone else only goes there for the amusement part. Bender gets in trouble, and the crew have trouble leaving the Moon.

The jokes are easy to understand, with Bender delivering most of the best jokes in the episode. Who doesn't crack up when a magnet gets attached to his head and he ends up randomly singing songs? It's even got a little emotion to it, and in my opinion it does everything correctly. A solid 9/10 overall.

Written for I, Roommate on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:9
Plot:8
Characters:10
Gags:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

The first episode of Futurama I ever saw! I, Roommate was the one focusing on Fry and Bender, after Fry is forced to move out of Planet Express for his laziness and annoyances. They both settle in a large, fancy apartment, but Bender's robotic system interferes with the TV, and their friendship is put to the test.

The episode is very funny, well thought out, and both Fry and Bender have their moments together. When Fry temporarily stays at Bender's apartment, Bender has a dream of killing all Humans, in which Fry is disturbed, with the rooms only being 1.5 cubic metres big (enough for 1 and a half people). The future setting is pushed further forward, and although a little sitcom-y, the episode worked well in developing the characters. This episode also introduced Calculon's show All My Circuits. Overall, a solid 9/10.

Written for Love's Labours Lost in Space on 13 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

One of the funniest and best introduction episodes of Futurama. Love's Labours Lost In Space introduced us to Zapp Brannigan, Kif, and Nibbler. The plot was decent, and wrapped everything up nicely. Some funny quotes come out of Zapp, no surprise there. Nibbler is one of the animals on a planet that's about to be destroyed, and Zapp tries and partially succeeds in making his moves on Leela.

The episode had alot of good jokes, with a funny introductory act of Leela trying to find a date, though ending up at The Hip Joint, where Bender calls almost every male that Leela likes gay, with his "Gaydar" gadget. The episode further picks up when the crew bump into Zapp's ship, climbing on board and asking for help to rescuing endangered animals on a planet named Vergon 6 that's about to explode. Zapp captures the crew, invites Leela to sleep with him, and succeeds, whilst the others rescue the animals (and to Fry and Bender's annoyance, Nibbler eats them all afterwards), and Nibbler saves the day with poop that turns out to be ship fuel! A hilarious and well written episode. A score of a 9.5, rounded up to a 10/10!

Written for A Flight to Remember on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:9
Sideplot:10
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10
Animation quality:10
Music/sound quality:10

One of my favourite episodes of Futurama. It's quite possibly the best episode of Season 1. The plot follows an entire parody of Titanic in a futuristic fashion, and does it pretty much flawlessly. Both the main plot and subplot were excellent. Bender's love pursuit of the Countess was funny and touching, whilst the Fry having multiple fake relationships with Amy and Leela lead to some extremely funny and emotional moments.

This episode probably marks the first time Fry and Leela have interest in each other, which also delivers their first kiss, and for shippers this is quite a plus. Fry makes out with both Leela and Amy, and delivers a funny reference on trying to deal with having two girlfriends similar to a show named Three's Company. There is also the first appearance of Amy's parents and the small love interest of Amy and Kif in there too. The viewer also learns about Hermes' Limbo powers in which also delivers a funny flashback, and the quote of "Uh, could somebody help me up?" Overall, the episode had a decent structure of following the Titanic plot and having many laughs, and beautiful animation too. A 10/10 for this episode.

Written for Mars University on 19 August 2010.

Overall rating:8
Plot:8
Characters:10
Gags:8
Sideplot:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10
Animation quality:8
Music/sound quality:8

Although it appears to be an episode most Futurama fans dislike, I'm going to say Mars University is a good episode. Although obviously a parody of Animal House, the episode was funny, and I didn't think Guenther was that annoying to be honest. He was supposed to make people feel jealous of him due to his hat and superior intelligence, which overcomes him at first, although he does appear to have a softer side to him after realising he's just meant to be a dumb animal, so he's not unlikable in my opinion.

The plot of Mars University follows Fry taking a course at Mars University so that he can drop out. He finds out that his roommate is a monkey named Guenther, who he dislikes due to his superior intelligence and selfish remarks. Bender moves back into his old dorm place with robot nerds in "Robot House". Bender tries to teach them to be cool and annoys everything, including a guy who says "ROBOT HOUSE!" everytime they do something wrong. In the end, the episode concludes when Guenther saves the crew from death by a waterfall, and choosing to stick with moderate intelligence after his hat is damaged. Overall, the episode was funny, had some good moments, Guenther didn't annoy me that much and the Bender subplot was decent. A solid 8/10 and good for laughs, though no Zoidberg in this one!

Written for Why Must I Be a Crustacean in Love? on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:8
Plot:8
Characters:10
Gags:8
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

I personally thought this was a good episode. The episode featured funny moments from mainly Fry and Zoidberg, although the humour in it is consistent, its only just above average in my opinion. Basically, the episode follows Zoidberg going back to his home planet to find a mate (as its mating season for his species). Unfortuantly, no one wants to be with him and he tries to win a high school crush of his named Edna, which fails, even after Fry tries to help him but ultimately backfires on them and they end up in a fight to the death.

The episode had some good moments, mainly from Zoidberg's stupidity on immediatly wanting to mate and not making any sense. Fry trying to reason with Zoidberg was funny and ironic, to just see Zoidberg chop Fry's arm off was kind of dark and in-character for Zoidberg to do, with Fry shouting "You bastard, I'll kill you, you bastard!" but again the episode ends on a funny note, with Zoidberg trying to reattach Fry's arm after calming down and missing the mating frenzy, only to mess it up and cut his legs and head off. Overall, a score of somewhere in the mid 8/10 range.

Written for Anthology of Interest I on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

The first anthology of interest follows the plot structure of telling 3 stories in 20 minutes using a What-If scenario. This is basically the equivalant of the Treehouse of Horror episodes from the Simpsons, but in Futurama style basically.

The story opens with Farnsworth using his new invention called The Finglonger which is used to operate the What-If machine. Bender asks what it would be like if he was 500ft tall, and he befriends Fry, but gets into a war with Earth and ends up losing, claiming his dream to be to kill all Humans, ending with Fry saying "Good Night, Sweet Prince" The 2nd story focuses on Leela asking what it would be like if she was more impulsive. In A "Dial M for Murder" Futurama parody, Leela ends up killing everyone in impulse, but at the end, when Fry finds out it was her who committed all the murders, she sleeps with him to keep his mouth shut. The final story focuses on Fry and asks a question about what if he never fell into the Cryogenics tube and landed into the future. He ends up causing a time hole in which all of his future friends show up, and Stephen Hawking and Gary Gygax, creator of Dungeons and Dragons, end up trying to kill Fry to fix the hole, but in the end, Fry messes it up by damaging the tube he was supposed to fall in, sucking him and the others into a void with nothing in it, and Gygax suggests playing Dungeons and Dragons for the next quadrillion years. The end of the story shows Professor Farnsworth asking what it would have been like if he had invented the Finglonger, and it turns out everything happened in that What-If question.

Overall, the first AOE is very funny and the structure works very well. Not much more to say about this, but its on par with the 2nd one. The best story on this one is the Leela one by far, and the weakest is Fry's (his one in my opinion doesn't have as many gags as the other two), but they're all still really good, and its decent enough to round the score up to a 10/10.

Written for The Cryonic Woman on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:8
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:8
Voice actor performance:10
Guest actor performance:9
Continuity:10

Well, I liked this episode quite alot, since almost everyone hates it but I feel its a very underrated episode. The first two acts of the episode are very good, whilst the 3rd one is weaker but still good. The Cryonic Woman offers quite a good plot, but its ending could be better. After getting fired by Farnsworth, Fry, Bender, and Leela get new jobs. Fry works at the cryogenics lab and bumps into a frozen Michelle, Fry's Ex. Fry shows Michelle the year 3000 to her, but she can't cope with it. She tells Fry that they should go to the year 4000. Things go wrong, and not everything turns out to be what it is.

Overall, the jokes were classic in the first act, focusing on Fry and Bender driving the ship unattended, Bender saying he is steering the ship with his ass. In the cryogenics lab, Bender scares newly awakened people with costumes and delivers very funny moments. Fry intoduces people to the probulator in a rather amusing manner, and so the humour level slighly dips when Michelle is introduced, though its still funny when she sees all the stuff in the future and can't find a vanishing cream that doesn't actually make her vanish. The jokes are almost non-existent in the final act, though Fry delivers one funny line stupidly not realising that deathboarding is actually more dangerous than skateboarding. I personally thought the deathboarding scene was one of the coolest action sequences the show has ever done. The humour picks up again when the Planet Express crew find him, with the episode ending with Farnsworth dropping Fry down a mysterious trap door after Bender reminds him why he was fired in the first place. A score deserving around the 8/10 mark overall, mainly because the final act was quite weak compared to the other two.

Written for Amazon Women in the Mood on 12 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:10
Sideplot:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

Quite possibly Futurama's funniest episode, in which splits into two plots. The first plot is when Leela arranges a date with Zapp so that Kif can meet Amy, and the 2nd is when they crash onto planet Amazonia. This episode is probably the first crude one, and although not directly told, its still obvious what they mean. I mean, who didn't laugh when the male crew were sent to death by "Snu-Snu"?

The episode was funny the whole time. The first act involved Zapp giving Kif some quick pickup lines, which offered a few funny moments. Zapp singing back to Leela was hilarious, and the episode got better once everyone ended up on Amazonia. The Femputer was funny, Zapp came out with some hilarious quotes, and many visual gags worked in this episode too. Honestly, this episode was one of the best. I'll give it a 10/10 easily!

Written for The Luck of the Fryrish on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:10
Characters:10
Gags:9
Voice actor performance:10
Guest actor performance:10
Continuity:10

This episode tends to be a favourite for many Futurama fans. I remember watching it for the first time, it was so sad and interesting to learn what happened in Fry's past. It's not the funniest episode of Futurama, but in my opinion, it's the most emotional episode next to Jurassic Bark.

The story is excellent. Having enough of bad luck, Fry goes to search his long lost lucky seven-leafed clover he left back in the 20th Century. He kept it in a safe at his house (which is underground) and reckons it's still there because he never told anyone where it was. Fry opens the safe and discovers it's not there, and he instantly assumes his brother Yancy stole it off him. He then discovers a statue outside the house named "Philip J Fry, first person on Mars" and he notices it's his brother and the clover on him. Fry accusses of Yancy stealing his dreams and fortune back in the past. Fry is determined to get the clover back from his brother's grave, only to discover on the tombstone that it was not his brother, but his nephew who his brother named after him "to carry on his spirit". After realising he was wrong about his brother the whole time, Fry starts to burst into tears. Bender gives him the clover, but Fry places it back into the grave, to show his respect to his long gone brother and nephew.

The ending is so touching that it will always bring a tear to your eye, no matter how many times you watch it. The "Don't You Forget About Me" song works so well at the end it makes it even more emotional. It's also an interesting episode to watch because it shows you flashbacks of Fry and Yancy's past and how they coped together. It also shows you alot of Fry's other past such as his birth and his parents. Yancy appears to be a meanie to Fry, but the ending shows you he's not and actually missed him the whole time he was gone. A very emotional episode, and one of the best. A 10/10 easily!

Written for The Day the Earth Stood Stupid on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:9
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:9
Sideplot:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

This episode introduced Hypnotoad, and Nibbler's talking personality. Not only was the episode funny throughout, it was well thought out for both the main plot and subplot. The main plot, following Nibbler and Leela having a plan to stop the brains was decent, whilst the subplot of Fry confused why everyone on Earth is dumber than him had many funny moments too.

The episode's plot was well rounded and who could have not forgotten the "ALL GLORY TO THE HYPNOTOAD!" scene at the beginning? I thought it was awesome that despite Fry being the smartest, he was still pretty dumb, and had a funny conclusion of confronting the big brain at the end, and making it look like Fry was going to die. Nevertheless, the ending of the episode was great, when nobody believe Fry about the brains, and that Nibbler returned to normal, but this episode had a very good plot, as well as many funny moments.

Written for That's Lobstertainment! on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:7
Plot:8
Characters:10
Gags:6
Sideplot:8
Voice actor performance:10
Guest actor performance:9
Continuity:10

Although usually considered one of the worst episodes ever, I think That's Lobstertainment is still acceptable and entertaining. The episode followed Zoidberg and his famous relative Harold Zoid to Hollywood, on producing a new movie to make him happy. While the episode could have had more jokes, the jokes were good but this is one episode that needed more.

The episode mainly focused on the plot more than anything else, sacrificing alot of its humour to get to the point. I was quite amused at the first act of Zoidberg lying to Harold Zoid in being a rich doctor, plus when Bender became working with Calculon after pretending to be the boiler. Many celebrity cameos had an appearance too, which gave me a few minor chuckles, but could have been better. The ending premiere again didn't have too many laughs, but I liked the speech when Harold Zoid says his goal is to win 2 more Oscars! Overall, the episode sacrificed alot of its humour to demonstrate the plot, and its probably in my bottom 5, but That's Lobstertainment still scores a solid 7/10 from me.

Written for Insane in the Mainframe on 12 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:10
Sideplot:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

One of the funniest episodes of Futurama! This episode is where Fry and Bender are taken to a Robot mental institution and Fry can't take it. He recovers after believing he is a robot and sent home, but can the crew convince him he is Human? With loads of gags and memorable moments, plus the introduction of Roberto. What could you not like about this episode?

The plot is good and the gags are non-stop. Insane In The Mainframe parodies One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest successfully and the episode is just too funny. Fry's voice as a robot is funny, and his beeping noise is funny when Leela gives him a hug, but Roberto is what steals the show! He just can't stop stabbing things and when he's locked up with Fry in the cell, Bender says "Hey keep it down in there I'm tuning my Banjo!". ROFL! You must see this episode, its just pure laughs and one of the best episodes of Season 3! A 9.5 rounded up to a 10/10

Written for Time Keeps on Slippin' on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:9
Sideplot:10
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

This episode of Futurama is a fine example of being able to use a plot of making funny and serious things happen at a same time, whilst using the development of the characters in the show as a key point in this episode. Time Keeps On Slippin' is able to use this mechanic perfectly, and ends on a rather sad-happy ending as a result.

The story begins with the Planet Express crew taking a day off in Central Park, when a spaceship lands on the park. It turns out to be the Harlem Globetrotters, who want to challenge Earth to a basketball match for no reason. Farnsworth accepts the challenge, and goes back to Planet Express to make the team, whilst Fry tries to get Leela to go out with him continously throughout the episode, with no success. Farnsworth shows the crew his Mutant Basketball team he made, but everyone sees they are still infants. Farnsworth sends them on a mission to collect time chronitons in space to speed up the process of growth. The crew come back with the chronitons, and Farnsworth feeds them to the Mutants, speeding them up adult form in seconds. At the game, the Mutants are actually beating the Globetrotters for a while, until time skips start happening randomly forwards through time. One of the Mutant members gets accidently killed, and Fry, trying to impress Leela, fills in as the substitute, but with less than 2 minutes to go, a time skip shows his team getting thrashed by the Globetrotters by the end. Farnsworth starts to worry about the time skips, and the Globetrotters are willing to try and help solve the problem with them as well. Farnsworth and the Globetrotters think that if they can move the stars correctly back from where the chronitons were moved, time would stop skipping. Unfortuantly, they need to build a "huge ass" gravity pump, which would cost alot of money and time to make. The time skip helps them speed this process up, and as a result they have it built. The crew use the pump to move the stars back to what positions they were by default, and are assumed to have successfully stopped the time skips. Shortly afterwards, Fry again tries to win Leela with trying to impress her on knowing how to fly the ship and giving here the Champagne she likes, but Leela tells him outright that "there's just no way that they're both ever going to..." but then the time skip occurs again, and its at Fry and Leela's wedding. Leela assumes that Fry drugged or hypnotised her due to the side-effect of the time skip of not knowing what happens in between. Fry tells her this is not the case, and then another time skip occurs and they are divorced. Fry, annoyed at not knowing what he did to win Leela's heart, is confused and baffled to how it happened. Meanwhile, Farnsworth and the Globetrotters noticed a flaw in their space-time equation and conclude that if they create a black hole to remove the remaining time chronitons, then it should permanantly stop the time skips. Fry, Leela, and Bender head to do the mission, and Leela originally decided to pilot the ship, but seeing Fry depressed she changes her mind and offers him to do it whilst setting the black hole device off. With the last remaining seconds of the time chronitons, Fry sees a message in the stars. It says "I LOVE YOU LEELA" and he realises what made him win Leela's heart. The bomb is detonated seconds later and the message disappears into the black hole. Fry asks Leela and Bender if they saw the message, but they didn't, and Fry keeps it to himself. He looks at the window, and realises he's missed his opportunity.

A fantastic and slightly sad episode. Time Keeps On Slippin' has alot of good jokes used on the premise of time skipping randomly forwards, and the subplot with Fry and Leela was actually better than the main one! I also liked how Bender wanted to become a Globetrotter, but realised there's no way he can be on. This episode is quite underrated on some sites, but I feel its one of the best by far! It reaches my top 10 at least!

Written for A Leela of Her Own on 8 August 2010.

Overall rating:8
Plot:8
Characters:10
Gags:7
Voice actor performance:10
Guest actor performance:9
Continuity:10
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

Another episode that's bashed to bits by many fans and considered the worst episode of Futurama by overall rankings. A Leela Of Her Own is a good episode which focuses on Base... I mean Blurnsball, in which Leela becomes the first Woman to bat for the Blurnsball team. The trouble is, she keeps throwing the ball wrong and knocking them out, making her the worst Blurnsball player of all time. Can she redeem herself, and make that not happen?

The episodes jokes are good but don't pop up that often. The first act deals with these aliens starting up a new Pizza parlor in the city, and the crew go in to have a look. It turns out they don't like it, but Fry fixes it for them and makes it a success. They then play a Blurnsball match together, and Leela's ability to knock each player out with a ball leads interest to a Blurnsball coach player signing her up for a team. Overall, I liked the plot of the episode, and thought the guest appearance of Hank Aaron was good, though the stupider Hank Aaron delivered some funny moments, and Bender, being Leela's agent of putting a 1 and 2 zeroes in front of every deal was extremely funny. The final act almost has no jokes, but Hermes delivers one visual gag which was pretty good, in which Leela tries to strike out another Woman player on the other team, only to fail and afterwards, is considered the "Worst Blurnsball Player Of All Time". Despite this, she realises she was an inspiration for other female Blurnsball players on wanting to ensure they don't suck as much as her as a player. Overall, the episode didn't have as many gags as it usually does, but was still an enjoyable episode, and I'd give it a dead-on 8/10.

Written for A Pharaoh to Remember on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:8
Plot:7
Characters:9
Gags:8
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:9

One of the more underrated episodes of Futurama in my opinion. A Pharaoh To Remember doesn't have the greatest plot, and some say Bender's a little out of character for being so annoyed that people won't remember him, but in my opinion, the episode was quite funny and well written. Fry, Bender, and Leela go to an Egyptian like planet and become slaves. Bender becomes the new Pharaoh, things go wrong and they all escape.

The first act is full of obvious but funny humour, such as Bender's large graffiti on the wall, and the Funeral scene, made extremely funny with Bender and Zoidberg. Once they get onto the planet, the humour is lessened, but still has some memorable moments, such as the High Priest saying "The Pharaoh just suddenly died!" and an Elton John lookalike singing. Bender being revealled as the Pharoah and performing his Egyptian dance was funny, and when Fry and Leela try to tease him into thinking he doesn't exist. Overall, a misunderstood episode with obvious humour and a fairly good plot. A solid 8/10. Oh, and how could I forget? REMEMBER ME!!!

Written for Kif Gets Knocked Up a Notch on 8 August 2010.

Overall rating:7
Plot:6
Characters:10
Gags:6
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:7
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

Probably my least favourite Futurama episode of the original run. Kif Gets Knocked Up A Notch was quite a boring episode, and Kif getting pregnant seemed a bit stupid to be honest. One joke I did like in this episode was the Angry Dome with Farnsworth, but again, only the first act is any decent due to Zapp delivering most of the jokes. The episode goes slowly downhill when it focuses totally on Amy and Kif, which is roughly the 2nd act onwards, though there is still the occassional joke that pops up (Bender being spit out of the frog, and saying "I'm back baby!", which always gives me a laugh)

The episode reveals that Leela accidently impregnates Kif by touching his hand, and to be honest it is a little cringeworthy. It annoys me a little on the continuity side of things, but it doesn't happen for a couple of years I guess. I rate this one pretty low due to a lack of jokes or a decent plot, but its still a passable 7/10, though one joke I really disliked in this episode was the Zoidberg crying one, it just didn't work for me and felt kind of like Season 6.

Written for Leela's Homeworld on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:8
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:7
Sideplot:7
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

An interesting episode in where we learn about Leela's origins. Again, its one of those Futurama episodes that sacrifices alot of its humour to demonstrate the plot. Unlike That's Lobstertainment though, this one was kind of touching and well structured, and the jokes worked when they needed to.

We learn that Leela was actually a mutant and her parents gave her up as a baby so that she didn't learn the truth. This is only because Leela chased them to a dead end, almost killing them before Fry reveals who they are. The episode ends on a sweet emotional note showing Leela growing up, and her parents were actually always there to support her. Again, I'd rate this episode quite highly just on the plot, but maybe if we had too many jokes in it though, it might have ruined the atmosphere. Overall, Leela's Homeworld was a good flashback episode and I'd rate it somewhere in the 8/10 region.

Written for Love and Rocket on 17 July 2010.

Overall rating:9
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:8
Voice actor performance:10
Guest actor performance:9
Continuity:10
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

I personally like this episode alot. Although most consider it average, I think the episode uses all the characters very well, and Bender was being his usual self, and when he dates the Planet Express ship, he comes out with some very funny moments. I liked the idea of Bender pretending to be interested in the ship, and all of a sudden dumping it at the same time. It was in character and a funny thing for him to do, though the primary reason why I like this episode alot is because of the final act.

The episode starts off strongly by making a delivery from Romanticorp to Omicron Persei 8. The Omicronians receive candy hearts for Valentine's Day, confused by the messages displayed on the candy. As the crew escape from attack, Bender dumps the ship and hurt's her feelings, causing the ship to get hit. Bender tries to distract her so that Fry and Leela can shut the ship's brain down so they can have full control over the ship again. One of my favourite scenes of the entire show is present in this episode, in which Fry sacrifices his own oxygen to keep Leela alive, and after being revived, is holding the perfect heart candy message in his mouth saying "U Leave Me Breathless". I thought this was perfect for building up the Fry and Leela character development, and found it very touching. Overall, I'm going to give this episode a 9/10, with Bender delivering most of the jokes, yet being quite touching too on the Fry and Leela side of the story.

Written for Jurassic Bark on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:10
Characters:10
Gags:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

One of the saddest, if not the saddest episode of Futurama. Jurassic Bark always gets me at the end, no matter what and it doesn't help that I had a dog in the past as well! A wonderful episode which flashes back to Fry's past in meeting with a dog named Seymour and how they coped and were good pals back in the 20th century.

Fry discovers a fossiled Seymour and discovers that he can bring him back to life. As Bender gets jealous because of thinking Seymour will be Fry's new best friend, he throws the dog into a pool of lava, but recovers and apologizes afterwards. Then, the clone machine starts and it is discovered that Seymour died at 15 years old, and because of this, Fry feels that Seymour probably moved on and forgotten about him over the years. The sad truth is though, he didn't, and waits and waits for Fry outside the Pizza shop for years and years as he gets older and dies of old age. It's too sad, but also quite funny too. Bender's jealously lead to some good gags, and the plot flowed perfectly in this episode, showing us the 20th century again. Warning, you may cry!

Written for Teenage Mutant Leela's Hurdles on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:10
Sideplot:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

One of the funniest Futurama episodes I've ever seen. Teenage Mutant Leela's Hurdles was funny throughout the episode, with the introduction of Farnsworth's Gargoyle Pazuzu and the return of Leela's parents as well. The plot of the episode is quite interesting, following what the crew would look like when they were teenagers and younger.

The episode begins with Farnsworth trying to find his Gargoyle Pazuzu in a very funny and in character representation of being old. The crew decided he needs to be younger and take him to a youth spa. The plan backfires when they all fall into the aging goo and they are all younger versions of themselves again. Farnsworth tries to fix the problem but will it be too late? Nevertheless, the episode featured many funny quotes from all of the characters, and it was just top notch on all places. Overall a 9.5 rounded up to a 10/10 score!

Written for The Why of Fry on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:10
Characters:10
Gags:9
Sideplot:8
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

So this was an excellent episode explaining why Fry came to the future and his purpose. Not only that, he starts to realise that maybe he does have a chance to be with Leela, but also more talking apperances from Nibbler. Nevertheless a very important episode and in my opinion should have came just before the series finale.

The episode begins with Fry setting off on a space delivery, but finding out that the crew went without him. He asks Leela to go to dinner with him, but his hopes are crushed when she tells him he is going on a date with Chaz, the mayor's aide. When Fry is told to take Nibbler out for a walk, he discovers that Nibbler can talk, and knocks him out, sending him to his home planet Eternium. The Nibblonians tell Fry that the brains are taking information from the universe and storing it into the Infosphere, a ship remiscient of the Death Star. Because Fry is immune to the brain's power, he is the only one who can stop it. Fry gets to the Infosphere using his Scooty Puff Jr and gets trapped after it breaks. He asks questions in the database and soon gets alerted by the other brains as a result. He plants a bomb and activates it, which will send them to a different universe. With seconds away from detonating, the brains tell Fry that they should ask the database what really happened to him on December 31st 1999. He asks the question and finds out that Nibbler is responsible for pushing him into the cryogenics tube. Fry is upset that they took away his life and he is sent to the other universe with the brains as time runs out. Seemingly trapped with the brains, Fry wished that Nibbler never took him to the future. Fortuantly, the brains give him one use of time travel to prevent this from happening. Meanwhile, Leela's date with Chaz ends when he reserves an ice rink only for her and prevents the orphans from skating with them. Fry arrives on 31st December 1999, and teleports just behind Nibbler. Fry grabs Nibbler seconds away from pushing the original Fry into the tube. Nibbler tells him that he needs to be frozen since he won't live long enough, but Fry feels he was "being used". In the end, Nibbler tells him if there's anything worth saving in the future. Fry tells him Leela, but he doesn't think he's important to her. Nibbler leaves the decision to Fry, and in the end Fry pushes the original Fry into the cryogenics tube. Fry returns with Scooty Puff Sr after telling Nibbler that Scooty Puff Jr sucks, and is able to set the bomb off and escape with no problems. He returns to Earth and Nibbler blanks his memory to stay undercover. The episode ends with Leela telling Fry that he may not be the most important person in the universe, but she's glad to be there with him.

Overall, a very important episode, with good jokes and finally an explanation of Futurama and Fry's existence. It's one of my favourites, along with the pilot episode as a reason for this, and it ties up the loose ends very well.

Written for The Sting on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:10
Characters:10
Gags:10
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

This episode is amazing! It does pretty much everything right, it gives an excellent balance of humour and emotion, and nevertheless has some nice twists and turns. Obviously, because there were more episodes of the series, you will guess something must be resolved, but how will still make you wonder without any spoilers. Without a doubt my favourite episode of the series!

The story begins with Farnsworth annoucing to the crew that they are not good enough to go on their next mission, claiming it to have killed their last crew. Leela nevertheless forces them to do it, and its to collect space honey from killer bees. To get the honey, Bender is costumed to be a bee and therefore are able to collect the space honey. Leela finds a baby queen and takes it so that they can make more at home. Bender insults the queen and the bees chase them. When they have escaped, the baby queen awakes and attempts to sting Leela, but Fry sacrifices himself to protect her, and is killed in the process. At the funeral, Leela is left with guilt, and during the night has a dream in which Fry is seemingly alive. Everyone thinks she is going crazy, and as time goes by she starts missing him more and more. She wakes up with Fry's coat on her, but when she shows it to the others, its her own instead. Leela gets depressed and starts to eat space honey to ease the pain, but she knocks the honey on the floor and Fry is seemingly regenerated back to his original form. However, this is short lived, as he tells her to "wake up". The next morning, for no apparent reason, the crew sings "Don't Worry, Be Happy" but Leela is assumed to have imagined it. To prove she is not crazy, Leela attempts to find Fry's body in space and keep it with her to proof he's really dead. When she gets to the coffin and open it, she is transported into another room with everyone claiming she killed Fry. Leela ends up in her room, not being able to cope with the loss of Fry anymore. She takes space honey and it takes 3 to sleep forever. Just as she almost takes the 3rd dose, a picture of Fry next to her talks to her, and in an emotional way Leela just doesn't know what to do anymore, and Fry simply tells her to "just wake up" and begins to cry. The next scene reveals to everyone that Leela was in a coma and Fry wasn't actually hurt, saying that she got all the poison. They hug each other and say they both need a shower.

Nevertheless, it's by far my all-time favourite Futurama episode. Don't listen to the bad reviews here, it is a weird episode, but done brilliantly. Both the characters of Fry and Leela in this episode are amazingly written, and even after you know what happens, you still want to go back to it and watch it over and over again. The "Don't Worry, Bee Happy" song had me almost crying in laughter! Fantastic! A perfect 10/10 for this masterpiece!

Written for The Farnsworth Parabox on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:10
Characters:10
Gags:10
Voice actor performance:10
Guest actor performance:10
Continuity:10

So this was an interesting episode which dealt with Parallel Universes and their many different outcomes in terms of simply flipping a coin. Filled with good quotes and memorable moments, The Farnsworth Parabox is one of the best episoes of Season 4/5 as a result.

The episode begins with Farnsworth doing an experiment whilst Fry keeps trying to ask Leela out. Leela's excuses for not wanting to don't work on Fry, and in the end Farnsworth finishes the experiment. The professor tells the crew about the object he used for his experiment, which is a Parallel Universe box (though he only tells the crew about the box and not what's inside). He tells no one to look inside, and in the end he lets Leela guard it from the others. Leela successfully fools the others from taking the box by switching it, in which Fry and Bender fall for it. Leela gets through the whole day without anyone peeking the box, and gets annoyed on not being able to have even a slight peek on what's inside. Whilst heading for a coffee vending machine, Leela gets a coin out and decides to flip it whether to look inside it or not, she gets Heads so she decides to look in, only to be sucked into the box. Leela comes out of the other side, and realises she's in a different universe, noticing the many changes in the crew and the environment. The 2nd Leela forces the crew from the original Universe into the new one, and as a result they are assumed to be the evil crew. Both crew Universes discuss on what has just happened, and conclude that both boxes have Parallel Universes. The 2nd Farnsworth has hidden the box for the time being, and when convinced that their parralel selves are not evil, they will let them go back as a result. The original Leela also finds out that their Parallel Fry and Leela selves are also married together as well. With having to live in the Parallel universe for a while, the crew try to get along with each other. Bender meets his Golden opposite, in which he realises that there's someone as equally as great as him, whilst the two Zoidbergs are annoyed at how their crew treats them as losers, when one of them knows where the box is and should keep it hidden away from them. Meanwhile, Fry and Leela learn more about how their secondary selves got together, in which resulted in a positive coin flip, in where it was negative for the original Leela, preventing her from dating Fry, in which annoys him. Both Farnsworths' have been working together and conclude that neither of them are evil, and that they can return to their own universe as a result. The 2nd Professor goes into a fish tank and finds in the clam its not there, and they then find out that the Zoidberg's took it. To make things worse, the Hermes from the original universe has been sent to destroy the original Parallel Universe box, by sending it into the sun. With the Zoidberg's running away and jumping into another random Parallel Universe box, the crew tether wire on them so that they can get back to the correct universe when they find them. After finally cornering the Zoidberg's off in the Hippie universe due to lack of boxes, the crew quickly jump back before Hermes releases the cargo lock. Farnsworth tells Hermes not to do it, in which he hesitates for a few seconds and lets them out. The episode ends with both crews switching boxes from each universe, and as a result they both have their own existing universes with them. Everyone is watching the TV, and Fry comes in and sits on it, stretching the whole universe as a result.

So overall, a very funny and excellent episode of Futurama, using the multiple universes as a good set of jokes, and telling out the interesting outcomes of a simple coin flip. I think this episode also cleverly twisted catchphrases too, like Golden Bender's "Bite my glorious golden ass!" so that was pretty awesome. Overall, a decent episode not to be missed! A 9.5 rounded up to a 10/10!

Written for Spanish Fry on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:9
Plot:8
Characters:10
Gags:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

This episode was a bit more cruder than other Futurama episodes, and in my opinion it wasn't too over the top, but worked and was still very funny.

The story begins with the Planet Express crew taking a camping trip, and Fry by himself looks for Bigfoot at night after being tricked by Bender in thinking he was Bigfoot. Fry comes back the next morning with no nose after being abducted by aliens. The crew find out that people have been abducted by aliens and taking their "human horns" (their noses) and they attempt to get it back by looking at certain shops and markets. They find out that Lrrr is the one that took Fry's nose and they then go to Omicron Persri 8 to get it back. Lrrr gives back Fry's nose, but it goes wrong when Bender tells him that the "human horn" he is looking for is actually Fry's *wing dang doodle*, they recapture him and attempt to take the "lower horn" as Lrrr calls it. Leela buys him some time by inviting them to dinner in the woods to settle his relationship with his wife, and if successful Fry gets to keep his "lower human horn". The dinner goes disastrously wrong, and just as Lrrr is about to take Fry's lower horn, Bender pushes the cage he is in and escapes. However, he is caught again, and with seemingly no way out this time, Bigfoot shows up. Lrrr and his wife respect how he is cute and adorable, but the park ranger comes back and attempts to shoot him with a tranquilizer dart. Lrrr prevents this and realises that if he takes Fry's lower horn, he's not much better than the park ranger, and therefore lets him go in the end.

So this was a pretty funny episode which pushed the limits of how explicit Futurama can get without becoming an adult show. Bender constantly saying "Woo!" to any sexual references was very funny. Nevertheless, it had some funny quotes and therefore was very good and enjoyable to watch.

Written for The Devil's Hands Are Idle Playthings on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:10
Characters:10
Gags:10
Voice actor performance:10
Guest actor performance:10
Continuity:10

I remember watching this when it first aired back in the UK in 2003, and it was really depressing back then to know that Futurama was ending with this episode. Fox cancelled the show too early, but with a little luck revived it again with movies and then CC airing new episodes for it. Nevertheless, the Devil's Hands Are Idle Playthings was a fitting last episode in which Fry wins Leela's heart (supposedly).

The episode begins with Fry trying to learn the Holophoner, an instrument that previously got Leela interested back in "Parasites Lost", and he realises he's just not supposed to be good at it, as his teacher calls his hands "stupid hands". Fry seems hopeless in winning Leela, but Bender suggests that they see the Robot Devil for help. The Robot Devil tells Fry that he can exchange his hands for a robot's so that he can play the holophoner perfectly, but who it lands on is determined by a wheel of robots spin. Fry fortunantly lands on the Robot Devil. Having to stick with the deal, the Robot Devil switches his hands with Fry's as a result. With the Robot Devil's hands, Fry is now a success with the holophoner, becoming famous and even given a chance to make an opera about anything. He chooses Leela as his subject, and the Robot Devil returns with a scheme of getting his hands back. The Robot Devil offers a deal to give Bender whatever he wants, and so Bender chooses to be more annoying with an air horn. He uses it on Leela and as a result she goes deaf. Leela is heartbroken that she won't be able to hear Fry's opera now. As Fry's opera reaches the 2nd part, the Robot Devil offers Leela a deal of new robotic ears in exchange for her hand. She takes it and is able to hear Fry's opera again, but the Robot Devil isn't impressed with it, as Fry mocks him in the opera show. The Robot Devil jumps in and stops the opera, claiming it to be lousy, and wants his hands back. Fry says no and everyone sings along in a opera fashion until the Robot Devil reveals that Leela signed the deal for a hand... in marraige. Fry, realising he has no choice if he wants to be Leela, gives up his robot hands for her, and the Robot Devil leaves. With his regular hands again, Fry attempts to play the Holophoner again, but its absolutely terrible, and sends everyone out of the show apart from Leela, and the final quote from the show "Please don't stop playing Fry, I want to hear how it ends" is said from her, and nevertheless with a smile Fry goes back and plays the final scene, and although a bit crudely in terms of quality, it shows Fry and Leela having a kiss and walking away holding hands.

This episode was brilliantly plotted and ended the series on a high note. Although the series is revived again and with seemingly no hint of the Fry-Leela relationship again, its no wonder why this finale worked so well, that opera song is still in my head! Kudos for Futurama going out with a bang, but what can we expect to see in the new revived series now?

Written for Bender's Big Score on 17 August 2010.

Overall rating:8
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:8
Sideplot:8
Voice actor performance:10
Guest actor performance:8
Continuity:9
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

Being the first of the Futurama movies, Bender's Big Score was an enjoyable ride that followed a time travel plot of scammer aliens taking over Planet Express and using a time travel code to steal all the things they need. The crew find themselves in hot water when its revealled that Fry has a tattoo of Bender with the time travel code on his ass. On a wild goose chase, the scammers control a virus-ridden Bender to destroy Fry, whilst Leela falls in love with a man named Lars from the head museum. This movie was written by Ken Keeler, who successfully followed the Futurama setting of continuity, geeky humour, plot twists, and most importantly, its characters.

Although Bender's Big Score is entertaining almost the whole time, make no mistake, its not perfect. The first half of the movie is very funny, as it cleverly builds up to the time travel storyline of introducing the alien scammers to Planet Express, and implementing many funny Bender moments to its time travel storyline with him, chasing Fry in the 21st century. If there's any gripes I have with this part, it's that I feel it does lower the impact of the endings of The Luck Of The Fryrish and Jurassic Bark, since the time travel plot does merge with those events, but these things in most people's eyes are considered minor things (though for me, its hard to look past that one). The 2nd half of the movie sees a pacing problem, as it tries to explain what happened to the Time Duplicate Fry (In which you may or may not guess the twist correctly first go) and the current events of fighting back the alien scammers. The jokes are fewer and not quite as good in the 2nd half, as it tries to explain the 21st Century Fry more than the present, but the plot is good enough to make up for it. Overall, I thought Bender's Big Score was a successful entry to the Futurama movie market, and I'm going to give it an 8/10.

Written for The Beast with a Billion Backs on 9 August 2010.

Overall rating:5
Plot:4
Characters:7
Gags:5
Sideplot:7
Voice actor performance:10
Guest actor performance:8
Continuity:1
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

Urgghh! I didn't like this movie that much. The Beast With A Billion Backs completely ruined the continuity of any Futurama moment. This movie happens DIRECTLY after Bender's Big Score, and Fry just leaves Leela for this girl named Colleen without a reason. It just seems way too out of the blue. Not only that, but more than half of the jokes were not funny for me in this movie! It takes almost halfway into the movie before the actual plot happens! Yivo was a boring character, who is only made funny when he controls Fry and says "Thou shall love the tentacle!"

Kif gets killed and Amy sleeps with Zapp, do I need to say more? The movie's subplot is passable though, with Bender being accepted into the Robot club, and its probably the best part of the movie. The last part with the Robot Devil wanting Bender's son, what the hell was that? What's going on? It's way too random! Why is heaven on Yivo? AAARRGGGHHH! This movie annoys me, but I did like the return of Pazuzu. The humour is extremely slapstick and stupid in this one, but not in a good way (at least for me). The plot is boring, the ending was terrible, and the humour was not up to Futurama standards. For those reasons, I rank The Beast With A Billion Backs the worst Futurama offering of all-time, and gave it a low 5/10! Ouch! Did I really think it was that bad? You better believe it, and trust me, its hard for me to dislike anything Futurama related!

Written for Bender's Game on 9 August 2010.

Overall rating:6
Plot:5
Characters:8
Gags:5
Sideplot:4
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:6
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

Another bad offering for Futurama in my opinion. Bender's Game, unlike The Beast With A Billion Backs, has a strong first act, but everything else for it is below par. First of all, the twist with Farnsworth's son was too obvious, and they kept pointing it out like 3-5 times when we already figured it out the first time its hinted (At least with Lars you had to think a bit to get it). As for Mom and her actions, it got really annoying when she kept slapping them and saying the same thing over and over again. It only works once in a while, but doing it all the time is overkill. The jokes are pretty good in the first act, but drop tremendously as they are either repeated or are just plain annoying. Mom's sons on being Owl Exterminators for example, got really old fast, and became a hindrance in the end. Once the crew try to save the Nibblonians from producing ship fuel for Mom, the humour kind of picks up again, but when it goes back to the Bender subplot, it isn't that funny since its all been done before (see the Season 3 episode "Insane In The Mainframe").

However, once the crew enter the Fantasy world, the quality of the movie plummets to almost rock bottom standards. Constantly referencing Lord Of The Rings and Dungeons And Dragons doesn't work for Futurama! The jokes are again far too slapstick, and there's even some toilet and sex humour thrown in. These do not work for this show, and Wipe Castle? Please! What an insult! A castle that is a toilet! And that QVC advert with Fry, or Frydo as he's called, was made unfunny because they dragged it out too long. The humour does sort of pick up again though at the end of the fantasy sequence, when its Mom vs Fry as Dragon transformations, but its over pretty quickly, and then they reveal who Farnsworth's son is, in an obvious Star Wars-like fashion. D'oh! One of the worst offerings of Futurama, but better than The Beast With A Billion Backs. I'll give it a 6/10, just because of the parts before the Fantasy sequence.

Written for Into the Wild Green Yonder on 15 August 2010.

Overall rating:8
Plot:8
Characters:10
Gags:8
Sideplot:7
Voice actor performance:10
Guest actor performance:9
Continuity:10
Animation quality:10
Music/sound quality:10

Quite possibly the best of the Futurama movies. Into The Wild Green Yonder has a really funny first act (the parts inside the Wong casino), whilst the others are on par (and not as good), and follows quite a good plot too in my opinion. The pacing of the movie is kind of strange in this one, since it splits into two or even three plots: One follows Leela, the other follows Fry, and the last one being Bender (Who merges into both Fry and Leela's plots too). Being written by Ken Keeler, similar to Bender's Big Score, Into The Wild Green Yonder had that Futurama feeling to it, and don't get me wrong, there are still a few jokes in there that are not perfect, but its hit-miss ratio is much better in this one than The Beast With A Billion Backs and Bender's Game.

The twist of the Dark One being the Leech I didn't actually get the first time around surprisingly, but I thought it was interesting that they sort of put the Fry and Leela relationship in this episode again, though its only a subplot. The eco-feminists plot was probably the worst part of the movie, but it was still passable, as Fry and Bender's storylines had more jokes, and they even squeezed in some funny Zapp moments in there too. The conspiracy about the number 9 man here was explained too, but the downside to these parts were the lack of jokes, but it wasn't too long and I personally found these parts interesting on the plot side. The final scene, leading up to Rebirth from Season 6, was a good way for the series to go, since we see almost all the Futurama characters, and a scene where Leela finally confesses her love to Fry, as the crew head into the Panama Wormhole to escape Zapp from uncertain doom. Overall, I enjoyed The Wild Green Yonder and I'm going to give it an 8/10, and it wasn't bad for a series finale.

Written for Rebirth on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:9
Plot:9
Characters:9
Gags:8
Sideplot:8
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10

So after being cancelled for a few years, Futurama is back baby! The first episode concluded and wrapped the ending of Into The Wild Green Yonder very nicely, and even had a good plot twist. Though by far not the best episode of Futurama, this was a decent starting episode overall and will most likely get better over time.

The episode begins with Fry coming in the Planet Express building discovering that his hair is messed up and having severe burns, asking Farnsworth inside what happened. Farnsworth realises that Fry doesn't remember, and retells him what happened. The crew were escaping Zapp and it turns out that the wormhole was a shipping channel and that they were back at Earth. Unfortuantly, Zapp manages to hit the ship and they end up crashing. Before this, Farnsworth activates the ship's safety spheres which protects everyone's heads (except Farnsworth, who has a full body sphere) and they all end up crashing in an explosion. Fry asks where the others are now, and it turns out they're dead and hooked with their skeletons dangling.

Farnsworth shows Fry the rebirthing device he made, and chucks the dead crew into the machine's liquid "stem cell" goo. The machine manages to recreate the whole crew (except Zapp) and Bender comes out with a problem of having to dance and keep moving to avoid exploding. Fry wonders where Leela is, and as she comes out, she doesn't awaken and as a result is seemingly stuck in a permanent coma. Fry, upset at Leela's loss, decides to build a bot to try and forget about her. He then finds out that Hermes can obtain Leela's past memories to reinstall herself onto the bot as a duplicate, and as a result she thinks she survived the crash. She doesn't realise she's a robot, until Nibbler bites a chunk out of her arm, and she sees wires inside her. Confused on why she still has the same emotions and feelings for Fry, Fry and Leela head to a studio nightclub, and conclude that they should still both be friends, whilst Bender keeps dancing to stay alive. With one last attempt to try to awaken the comatosed Leela, Farnsworth uses a standard "wake up" medicine of throwing her around and making loud noises, but with no luck. Fry has to seemingly accept her death, whilst the robot Leela tries to comfort him. Due to Leela's will stating if she is in a coma, her body is to be fed to the wild Cyclophage. Fry kisses the real Leela and mourns a little, whilst the beast approaches them. Because Bender can't stop dancing, he attracts attention, and when he burps out fire, he awakens the real Leela. The real Leela is confused on why there's a 2nd Leela that Fry was kissing, but the crew run back to the ship before getting attacked by the beast, which attaches itself to the ship with its tongue whilst fleeing. Back at Planet Express, the two Leela's are confused on who Fry is in love with, and Fry talks to himself about his feelings for her, in which grabs both the Leela's attentions and causes a fight. Fry is given a gun to shoot the robot Leela, but accidently fires upon himself, revealing that he is a robot too. Farnsworth tells Fry that there's more to it than he originally told him. Just before the ship crashed, Fry gave Leela extra cover by protecting her from the blast. Fry was actually obliterated, whilst Leela survived. The original Leela, so distraught by this, made her own bot of Fry as a result, and as they kissed, the electricity in the Fry bot electricuted both of them and got Leela killed, as well as delivery short memory loss. This resulted in the Fry hair at the beginning of the episode and why he doesn't remember. After the group of Leela's realise that the real Fry is dead, Fry actually comes out of the rebirth machine, and both robot versions of Fry and Leela say they love each other, and ditch their skins and leave the crew as a result. The real Fry confessed to real Leela about his love to her, whilst Bender gets sick and tired of partying to stay alive. Just as he's heating up, the Cyclops beast appears and eats Bender, exploding whilst he's inside and killing the monster. At the same time, this causes Bender to return back to normal, and as a result everyone celebrates to party, with the crew leaving the room, whilst Zapp comes out of the machine sliding out unnoticed.

The things I did like about this episode that it kept Fry and Leela related, and felt more like Futurama than the movies. However, the Bender subplot was maybe a tiny bit annoying, but a few good lines came out of it and I have enjoyed it more on reruns, plus it does have a purpose. One joke I didn't like involved Leela, because it felt out of place for Futurama and very Simpsons-y. Most of the jokes worked though, and all the plot points are wrapped up nicely from the end of Into The Wild Green Yonder. It's maybe not the most perfect way to return, but Rebirth made sense and was entertaining, and that's good enough for me!

Written for In-A-Gadda-Da-Leela on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:8
Plot:7
Characters:7
Gags:8
Sideplot:8
Voice actor performance:9
Guest actor performance:7
Continuity:7

So the 2nd Futurama episode after the series was revived was decent, but in my opinion it was significantly worse than Rebirth, but also just as crude as the episode Spanish Fry. Overall, the episode had laughs, a fairly strange ending, and as usual funny Zapp moments, but its still not quite at the top of its game yet.

I have seen this episode, but I'm still not 100% sure on the plot, so here's a quick plot summary. It was something like a death sphere named "V-GINY" (Get it?) was destroying planets by censoring the ones that were inappropriate. This sends Leela and Zapp on a mission to go inside it to find out, but they get shot down onto an "Eden" like planet as a result. Fry and the rest of the crew start to worry about the sphere, and decide to try and clear the planet's sinfulness to try and prevent the sphere from destroying Earth. Back on the "Eden" planet awaken, Zapp uses this moment to take advantage of Leela who is trapped under a log into getting seduced in thinking they are the last two humans left, though Leela starts working it out that Zapp set everything up. The "V-GINY" ship arrives at Earth, and for some reason it will spare the planet if Zapp and Leela have sex. Leela goes for it with no hesitation, but here's the thing, Fry and the other crew arrive and see the whole thing too, as the twist turns out that the planet was Earth the whole time. That makes Leela out of character because why would she want to sleep with Zapp after trying to avoid it for so long? Wasn't she just starting to date Fry too? I got that impression from the end of Rebirth.

Overall, the episode was good but in my opinion had a lackluster 2nd half. The first half was really good, but the episode focused too much on the Zapp and Leela storyline in the 2nd half in my opinion. It was still good, though I thought it was interesting on how far the crude dialogue and sex references got to go now that Futurama is on Comedy Central. Some of the best jokes from this episode came from Farnsworth and Bender. The plot was a little lackluster, but In-A-Gadda-Da-Leela was still entertaining, though could have been a hell of alot better. I do question myself whether the crudeness is pushing too far for Futurama, because this episode was very direct about it, and I'm not sure if that's the right direction for the show to head.

Written for Attack of the Killer App on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:7
Plot:8
Characters:8
Gags:7
Sideplot:7
Voice actor performance:9
Guest actor performance:4
Continuity:3

I'm not sure if I'm liked the direction this episode of Futurama was heading. I mean, I didn't mind the future version of I-Phone and Twitter, but something about this episode didn't click. It's not the pop-culture references that annoy me, because they can work if done correctly on the show. Like one reviewer on a different site said, the guy who wrote this also wrote my favourite episode of the series: The Sting! How could it go wrong you ask?

Well... to be fair, there were quite a few good jokes in there, particularly the first half, which is why the episode still scores fairly high for me. I also liked the delivery scene to the third world planet part, as well as Flexo's appearance, but the main thing I hated about this episode was that Susan Boil character attached on Leela. Seriously, that's the best they could think of trying to make an embarrassing video of Leela? I've got a bad feeling it's going to show up again in another episode, whilst I'm not complaining too much about the Fry and Leela relationship (it's gone on and off all the time back in the original run, so I'm used to it), I also felt the ending made no sense. Why did Mom have to wait for someone to hit a certain amount of tweets before she could activate the virus? Is this episode a two parter? Well it wasn't, but could have been.

So overall I didn't hate the whole episode as I felt the first half was strong, but past the Susan Boil "Leela" part (which looks like a hit or miss judging from other reviews), it went way downhill and felt like a new low for Futurama in my opinion. At this point, besides the movies, I rate this the worst Futurama episode ever, although its first half still makes it hit a dead-on 7/10, and even then I still feel I might be being too nice on the overall grade.

Written for Proposition Infinity on 11 July 2010.

Overall rating:9
Plot:8
Characters:8
Gags:9
Voice actor performance:9
Guest actor performance:10
Continuity:8

So last week's episode felt a bit out of place, parodying future versions of current technology, and many felt that it didn't feel like Futurama. Well, good news everyone! Proposition Infinity is more like the original ones, focusing on the future setting, and giving out plenty of jokes, though there are still some which don't work (I thought Hermes' Circusities was way too random and out of place to be worth more than a chuckle at least).

Many of the best lines and moments in this episode came from the main characters, but even the minor ones had some pretty good moments. Preacherbot, Roberto, and the Hyper-Chicken were pretty funny, and the only thing I felt was a slight letdown was the ending, again this time seemingly rushed and resolved very quickly. Farnsworth's explanations about the robosexual relationship incident he had was a little far-fetched in my opinion, but I thought it was a nice change that Kif splitted up with Amy for a while, though some might be disturbed by the Bender and Amy relationship.

Overall, Futurama has proven it can still provide the old humour we loved in its original run as proven by many jokes in this episode. It's just when will we see an episode where everything is done correctly in the way we loved? Well, Proposition Infinity was funny most of the time like a classic Futurama episode, and these cases they got to the point. It's not perfect, but a step in the right direction. so we can only expect the average quality of episodes to go up, and hopefully not down.

Written for The Duh-Vinci Code on 16 July 2010.

Overall rating:9
Plot:9
Characters:9
Gags:9
Voice actor performance:9
Continuity:9
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

So here we have a futuristic take on The Da Vinci Code by Futurama. Overall, the episode is decent, though maybe slightly out of character. Is Fry really THAT stupid? Well, I'm not sure. What I really did like about this episode was how Fry and Farnsworth related to each other, and gave out some good quotes, both humourously and touching. As for the others, well... they weren't as important, though Hermes does deliver one of the best quotes in the episode. Seriously, does Planet Express actually do deliveries anymore?

The episode's first 2/3rds of the episode are very good, and you definatly get that old Futurama feeling out of it. Starting off with a spoof on Who Wants To Be A Millionare presented by Morbo, the episode kicks in when the crew investigate Da Vinci's works. After discovering a hidden robot in the painting, the crew head to Rome and are given air-control traffic by The Space Pope (that was awesome!). Once heading into the ruins of Rome, they revive a Da Vinci robot who tries to stop them from discovering Da Vinci's secret.

Farnsworth figures out the location of Da Vinci's secret and they find out it's an invention he made. Fry and Farnsworth accidently start it up, and it turns out to be a space-like ship which travels to a planet. The rest of the crew are taken a backseat and do not appear, in which in my opinion is where the episode goes slightly downhill, as it goes a little silly.

Fry and Farnsworth arrive at a planet called Vinci , and they discover Da Vinci. It turns out that Da Vinci is the stupiest person there, so Fry relates to that almost automatically. Farnsworth takes a lecture course there and ends up feeling stupid as well compared to the others. Fry and Da Vinci create the invention Fry discovered earlier on Da Vinci's paper, and it turns out he invented it to kill the people he hated. Farnsworth joins in to with the killings, though Fry decides to stop the machine, by accidently getting himself jumbled up inside the machine's mechanics, also resulting in Da Vinci also accidently killing himself too. Heading back home, Fry admits to the professor he may be a little stupid, but he has a good heart.

So what was different about this episode compared to the ones before in Season 6? Well, the humour wasn't quite as dumb, though there were still parts that made me cringe a little (Fry constantly mentioning Leonardo DiCaprio, getting hit by traffic and no one visiting him the whole time while recovering, people reacting to Da Vinci's dumbness), though a small reference of the Fry-Leela relationship is in there with the "Mile Deep Club" quote Fry says. As mentioned before, the episode is quite strong for the first 2/3rds of the episode, but goes a little downhill on the final act, since you'll notice a huge Back To The Future reference sticks out like a sore thumb, and its slightly distracting when used in Futurama. Nevertheless, this episode had alot of memorable moments, but it still a little iffy in its jokes, continuity (1 month stuck in a bare-bones spaceship with no food or drink?), and pacing, but felt more like the original run of Futurama and had me laughing out loud in parts, so I'll give it a 8.5, rounded up to a 9/10.

Written for Lethal Inspection on 23 July 2010.

Overall rating:9
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:9
Sideplot:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:10

So we've finally come to a Futurama episode focusing primary on Hermes and Bender together. How does it hold up? Extremely well, and if not for the first act, everything was pretty much perfect. I admit, I guessed the twist pretty quickly, but even the last montage was still pretty touching and then you realise how much Hermes actually cares for Bender.

The episode followed Bender and Hermes having to find this Inspector #5 person to solve his mortal issue of being a robot. In the end, after Bender gives up finding him, Hermes convinces Bender that he should be living life at his fullest, and in the end decides not to reveal to Bender he is actually Inspector #5, and quitely gets rid of the evidence and saves his life from the kill-bots and Mom. The subplot of Leela taking over Hermes' job was funny, cause it was in character for Leela to be lazy at a job she has no experience at.

Like I said before, my only gripe with the whole episode was the first act, with the Star Wars-like Civil War part. It felt very iffy and didn't really give out any laughs on their side of the characters. It could have been alot worse, but dragged the episode down for me a little bit. Overall, the rest was perfect and we finally have a satisfactory final act in the new season! With plenty of Futurama references, such as the old man finally managing to get his death certificate, to revisiting the Central Bureaucracy, it was "classic" Futurama humour, with a decent plot of making Hermes and Bender the highlight of the episode. With almost no sex jokes and geeky humour, Futurama is almost back in top form! My favourite scene was the last one of course! A 9.0 out of 10!

Written for The Late Philip J. Fry on 30 July 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:10
Characters:10
Gags:10
Sideplot:10
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10
Animation quality:10
Music/sound quality:10

Easily one of the best episodes of Futurama ever! The episode was very funny, but what made it stand out for me was the time-travel storyline. I liked catching all the past Futurama references, as well as the changes of history throughout time travel, plus I loved that song they used for it. The animation was beautiful, and the whole thing was well written and Emmy worthy indeed.

Not only was the episode exciting and full of good jokes, but the emotional aspect of Leela missing Fry was also very touching. The message that she leaves for him is tearjerker worthy, as Fry realises he has to move on and accept that he had a great life with her, was kind of a happy-sad moment. Despite realising that the whole universe was in a repeated time-loop, it was nice to end the episode with Fry reaching on-time for the date with Leela. Overall, I'm going to give this one a 10/10, and it's by far the best episode of this season so far!

Written for That Darn Katz! on 6 August 2010.

Overall rating:7
Plot:6
Characters:8
Gags:6
Sideplot:8
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:9
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

Compared to last week's episode, this one was still a little below-par in comparison to the ones shown before it this season. The lolcat jokes could only hold the episode's humour for so long (though it did deliver a good poster joke, which made me lol pretty hard). Many of the other jokes on this episode were hit and miss, and that can-can cat one was probably the one that fell hardest on its face the most.

On the positive side, we do see Amy finally getting her degree, and having Nibbler as a focus is always a nice change. Plus, we see most of the crew revisit The Hip Joint, which was a nice touch. On the other hand, the plot was kind of boring after the first act though, as the cat villians were kind of lame in my opinion (It reminded me too much of that movie 'Cats & Dogs'). So overall, it's one of the weaker episodes of the show, but at least this one had a purpose and a reason. Overall, I'm going to give this one a 7/10, passable but not that great, and putting it on par with Attack Of The Killer App.

Written for A Clockwork Origin on 13 August 2010.

Overall rating:9
Plot:8
Characters:10
Gags:9
Sideplot:8
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

The episode was good, but a little shaky in the first act. The evolution proving part with the Professor and Dr Banjo was maybe dragged out a little too long, but other than that, most of the first act was good. The episode gets better once they get onto the planet with the robotic dinosaurs, as the jokes pop up and work more often, and its more memorable due to the animation and well placed quotes during the dinosaur/robot encounters.

As for the rest, I thought the subplot with Zoidberg and Cubert was quite good, though it doesn't really have a full conclusion, ending with a quick quote to end the subplot, but both Zoidberg and Cubert come out with some funny moments. Other things I liked were the courtroom scene with Bender in those suspenders, but like I said, most of the jokes were in the 2nd act, but it's still good enough to give the episode an 8.5 out of 10, and I personally thought it was an interesting take on evolution/creationism.

Written for The Prisoner of Benda on 20 August 2010.

Overall rating:10
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:9
Sideplot:9
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

Ken Keeler delivers another fantastic episode of Futurama! The storyline of the episode was very interesting and funny, to have characters constantly switch with mixed parings such as Farnsworth and Zoidberg being Fry and Leela (delivering a rather disturbing scene) to Amy switching with Leela and making her fat as a result. The best scene by far is the one with Amy and Scruffy though, since it was in character for Scruffy and not expected, plus its kind of heartbreaking in a way too.

The plot's resolution was quick, but I'm actually impressed on how much content this episode fitted in within the 22 minute mark. Nevertheless, The Prisoner Of Benda had jokes which almost all worked for me (The only one that didn't work too well I thought was the Japanese translator guy one), but other than that, this episode had a strong plot, similar to Three Hundred Big Boys and The Farnsworth Parabox, with plenty of laughs (Zoidberg being Fry, Amy being Leela, and Fry and Leela as a couple... in Farnsworth and Zoidberg's body), many memorable quotes, and is easily one of the best this season. I'm going to give this episode a 9.5 out of 10, rounded up to a 10!

Written for Lrrreconcilable Ndndifferences on 27 August 2010.

Overall rating:8
Plot:6
Characters:10
Gags:7
Sideplot:7
Voice actor performance:10
Guest actor performance:10
Continuity:10
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

So this episode mainly focuses on Omicron Persei 8 leading Lrrr and his wife Ndnd, and does this ring any bells before? Well, an eariler episode called Spanish Fry did almost the same thing, as Lrrr has to try and win back Ndnd as usual. The first act is really good, focusing on Fry's comic, offering a few good laughs out of the 3010 Comic Con, spoofing the cancellation of Futurama in a futuristic way, but after that, the jokes are lessened and the plot kind of becomes predictable as it focuses on Lrrr and Ndnd.

The twist of Fry not getting killed by the laser gun was already predicted very early on the episode, when they brought it up that it was a teleporter gun. It's a shame because the episode could have been left on a really good cliffhanger of Fry, or even Leela seemingly killed (like The Sting) and bringing it into a nice conclusion at the end of the next episode. Nevertheless, the scenes with Lrrr have mostly been done before (Spanish Fry) and it was kind of dragging on a bit. The Orson Welles fake movie scenes was good, but again, its all been done before (When Aliens Attack). Overall, the episode's first act was very strong, but the rest was average. I'll still give it a dead-on 8/10 as a result, since the first act was very strong on its own.

Written for The Mutants Are Revolting on 17 September 2010.

Overall rating:9
Plot:9
Characters:10
Gags:8
Sideplot:8
Voice actor performance:10
Continuity:10
Animation quality:9
Music/sound quality:9

So this episode of Futurama is an important one, in which we see a permanant series change to where the mutants from underground in the sewers are given unlimited access to the surface. From the looks of it, being the 100th episode of the series (including the movies), The Mutants Are Revolting was a good episode focusing mainly on the plot, but has some good gags too.

The episode focused on Leela being found out by the surface police that she was a mutant and being sent to the sewers. Fry and the others also get thrown down for keeping her up there while knowing about it. Fry decides to become a mutant to understand Leela better by jumping into the mutated waters, and everyone decides to strike against the surface people. In the end, the mutants win after a good plot twist reveals more about Leela. In a nutshell, the episode's plot was the strongest point about the episode, and I liked the start of it mentioning their 100th delivery, and it just goes to show that Futurama can still do it!

Written for The Futurama Holiday Spectacular on 30 November 2010.

Overall rating:6
Plot:6
Characters:7
Gags:5
Voice actor performance:9
Guest actor performance:8
Continuity:2
Animation quality:8
Music/sound quality:6

After months of waiting for a new episode, we are given the Futurama Holiday Spectacular episode to end this year with. To be honest, this episode was a huge letdown to be honest. For starters, I was confused half the time of what the hell was going on, since the pacing of all the episodes were all over the place, and not using the Anthology Of Interest story structure meant we weren't sure if the stories were canon or not. It is assumed by us that they aren't, but then again, what's the point? Are they trying to make Treehouse Of Horrors for Futurama? I think it's best it was left to Anthology episodes, plus there was way too much singing in this episode! Three below par songs for one episode is not a great record to be holding to be honest, and I thought they'd learn not to do this from that "All Singing, All Dancing" episode off The Simpsons!

Nevertheless, the episode is split up into three different stories: Xmas, Robanukah, and Kwanzaa. The first segment focuses on Planet Express reviving an extinct pine tree for Christmas, and this backfires on then once they find out the seeds are contaminated by biological weapons, and this causes the Earth to ignite and kill everyone. The first segment is passable, although the pacing is off and there's not too many jokes, but it's ok. The second segment, being the best one of the three, is about celebrating Robanukah, and Bender doesn't have enough petroleum for two fembots to continue wrestling for a couple of weeks. The crew try to get some petroleum by heading towards the center of the earth, getting attacked by a humping worm (get it?) on the way. As they get closer however, the pressure is too much for everyone except Bender, as the Planet Express crew are crushed to death by the ship. Bender waits 500 million years later and discovers the crew has turned into petroleum, and returns to the fembots, realising that the original petroleum lasted 500 million years anyway. This segment had the most laughs and believe it or not, the best writing of all three segments! The 3rd and final segment focuses on Hermes' family and the crew celebrating Kwanzaa. After a song by Kwanzaa Bot is sung to everyone, the crew realise that they need beeswax for the candles to celebrate. Heading back to the Bees' hive last seen in The Sting, the crew discover that the bees are infected by termite-like creatures. This causes them to get angry with one and another, and gives the crew an opportunity to obtain the beeswax. The crew then decide to try and help the bees by telling them about Kwanzaa, and for some weird reason this gets rid of the parasites, and causes the bees to attack the crew once returned to their normal state, leaving them to feed and eat until they die. This segment is by far the worst one, despite having the best song, but everything else about it makes no sense. Why all of a sudden can bees talk, and why is Family Guy mentioned here? Seriously, this segment made no sense, and this really got on my nerves, as there weren't many jokes either.

So in conclusion, only 1 out of 3 of the stories are decent, and the rest are below par in my opinion. The other Christmas and Anthology episodes are miles better than this one, and this episode is almost the worst one I've seen so far (It's in my bottom 5 episodes), and to be honest, pretty much all of us were disappointed with it. Hopefully next year, Futurama will come back up with some good stories and plenty of humour again.